How To Get A Purple Hat Linux Certification

Why Ought to I Get A Linux Certification?

Properly, the primary query you might need is why do you have to get a Linux certification? The reply to that is just like getting certifications on the whole. It helps to show your information within the Linux working system, by testing and passing a minimal commonplace of information.

It could actually additionally assist you get a job within the business. Many roles require or favor a certification in Linux, similar to Linux directors or basic server directors. It could actually additionally add to your present Linux information, which you may apply to your present job.

Which Linux Certification Ought to I Get?

This might be a complete publish by itself – however I will embrace all the data right here in a single handy place.

There are 4 principal suppliers of Linux certifications, they usually all supply a spread of various certifications for various ranges Linux guides.


They provide a spread of certifications, with labels of Engineer, Skilled and Desktop Administrator.

Licensed Linux Engineer 11 (CLE11) – offers engineer-level abilities for managers and designers on massive methods based mostly on SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 11. You’ll want to have handed the Licensed Linux Skilled 11 examination to be eligible for this.

Licensed Linux Administrator 11 (CLA 11) – a brand new certification, specializing in every day operation of SUSE Linux Enterprise Server networks.

Licensed Linux Desktop Administrator (CLDA) – targeted on these with Home windows desktop expertise and want to find out about SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop.

Licensed Linux Skilled 11 (CLP 11) – offers abilities essential to administrate SUSE Linux Enterprise Server.

ComptTIA solely present a single Linux certification, the Linux+.

Linux+ – an entry-level certification for these seeking to get into the Linux subject. Vendor impartial.
Linux Skilled Institute

The Linux Skilled Institute, in any other case referred to as LPI, supply a couple of Linux certifications.

Linux Skilled Institute Certification Stage 1 (LPIC-1) – a junior stage Linux certification that exams primary abilities in main Linux distributions.

Linux Skilled Institute Certification Stage 2 (LPIC-2) – a complicated stage Linux certification that features abilities in administration. Passing the LPIC-1 is required for this.

Linux Skilled Institute Certification Stage Three (LPIC-Three) – a senior-level Linux certification for main Linux distributions that gives a number of specialties. Passing the LPIC-2 is required for this.
Purple Hat

Purple Hat supply a couple of certifications for his or her distribution of Linux.

Purple Hat Licensed System Administrator (RHCSA) – a lower-level Linux certification that covers the fundamentals of administration.

Purple Hat Licensed Engineer (RHCE) – extra superior Linux certification, geared toward skilled Linux professionals. Passing the RHCSA is a requirement for this certification.

Purple Hat Licensed Virtualization Administrator (RHCVA) – targeted on deploying digital hosts within the Linux setting

Purple Hat Licensed Safety Specialist (RHCSS) – targeted on security measures and areas of Linux

Purple Hat Licensed Datacentre Specialist (RHCDS) – targeted on the necessities for administrating and supporting datacentre environments

Purple Hat Licensed Architect (RHCA) – the best stage of Purple Hat certification, this focuses on skilled subjects of Linux administration and utilization.
So, the reply to which Linux certification do you have to get?

It relies on your expertise and necessities. There are a number of junior Linux certifications (Linux+, RHCSA, LPIC, CLE11) that might be helpful in the event you’re seeking to begin out.

Extra superior certifications such because the RHCE, LPIC-2, CLA11 and CLP11 could be useful if in case you have extra expertise. In the event you’re a senior skilled within the Linux space, I would look into the RHCA or the LPIC-Three.

Nonetheless, this text is targeted on the Purple Hat certifications, so we’ll have a look at the right way to get a Purple Hat Linux certification on this article.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *